• President
    • Gerald Davies CBE
  • Vice Presidents
    • Andrew Brace
    • John Bradley
    • Jack Evans
    • Tony Evans
    • Bob Garwood
    • Simon Gulliford
    • David Harries
    • Owain Harries
    • Dr Keith Hughes
    • Peter Jackson
    • W Hopkin Joseph
    • Gerry Latham
    • Ian Lewis
    • Byron Light
    • Greg Lock
    • Nigel Perris
    • Martyn Ryan
    • Anthony Tarr
    • Denys Thomas
    • Jeff Thomas
    • Richard Whiting
    • John Williams
    • Nick Williams
    • Gary Witchell
  • Life Members
    • Malcolm Baker
    • Gerald Davies CBE
    • Jack Davies
    • Leighton Davies
    • Denis Evans
    • Dennis Gethin
    • Wyn Oliver
  • Chairman
    • Jack Davies
  • Hon Secretary
    • Denys Thomas
  • Treasurer
    • Jon Davis
  • Vice Chairman
    • Tim Lowe
  • Match Secretary
    • Dr Keith Hughes
  • Head Coach
    • Adrian Evans
  • Executive Committee
    • Jack Davies
    • Denys Thomas
    • Jon Davis
    • Tim Lowe
    • Steve Williams
    • Adrian Evans
    • Dr Keith Hughes
    • Bob Dyer
    • Rhys Evans
    • Gethin Evans
    • Alun Wynne
    • Dr Brian Rees OBE
    • Wyn Hughes
    • David Williams
    • Gareth Nicholas
    • Richard Emms
    • Steve Whitehead
    • Paul Evans
    • Colin Workman
    • Paul Jones
    • Simon Thomas

Welsh Academicals v Oxford University Greyhounds


19 NOVEMBER 2016, k.o. 12 noon.

This was a marvellous match, a great advertisement for student rugby and a tribute to all the players, the coaches and the match officials.

Despite the heavy conditions underfoot, both teams played out a highly entertaining encounter in a game which ebbed and flowed with the lead changing hands on 7 occasions and only decided with the very last kick, a conversion from the touchline to give the win to the Accies.

The early exchanges were tight as both sides got to know each other until the 10th minute when the Accies’ Will Holley crossed for the opening try after a fine break by centre Toby Fricker. Lewis Anderson replied for the Greyhounds quickly followed by tries from Ollie Adams and Jacob Goss, both converted by Tom Dyer, opening up a 19-5 lead for the University side.

Back came the Accies with a quick-fire burst of three tries in 8 minutes, the first from Sion Cowdy to finish off a good threequarters move, followed by a superb team try started in the Accies 22, finished by outside half Lewis Dennett and finally a fine individual try from Toby Fricker. Dennett converted two to give a half-time score of 24-19 to the Accies.

Within a minute of the restart, the Greyhounds had responded, with a try from Christian Goldsmith, converted by Dyer to regain the lead. James Gahan’s unconverted try made it 29-26 to the Accies, before the Greyhounds appeared to have gained the upper hand with three tries with only one converted to lead 43-29 with 15 minutes to play.

The Accies were not lying down and came back magnificently in a thrilling finish to the match. First Owen Clemett crossed, converted by Holley, then Matthew Flanagan added another, unconverted score to leave the Accies two points adrift. The Greyhounds opted to kick a penalty goal, the first attempt on goal and a sign, perhaps, of the tiredness starting to set in.

With the Accies camped on the Greyhounds’ line and time up on the watch, Aled Cockwell emerged to crash over in the corner to level the scores, leaving Will Holley, of Mountain Ash RFC and who opened the day’s scoring, to nail the conversion and record an epic victory.

The match was very well officiated by Mr Kelvin Shorte and his two assistants. The handling was of high quality with very few errors reflected in the fact that there were only seven scrums in the whole match (with five completed first time). The privileged ones present were reminded of how the Game can look when played with style and freedom combined with good technical ability.

Welsh Academicals RFC
Alex Lloyd (Hartpury College), Sion Cowdy (Liverpool Univ), Toby Fricker (Southampton Univ), Gabriel Davies (UWE), James Gahan (Univ of Gloucestershire); Lewis Dennett (Hartpury), Matthew Flanagan (USW); Josh James (Hartpury), Gareth Pym (Loughborough Univ), Owen Howells (Aberystwyth Univ), Ryan Bean (USW), Luke Waller (Cardiff Univ), Dylan Morris (Cardiff Univ), Matthew Bennett, capt (Hartpury), Aled Cockwell (USW),
Replacements: Will Holley (Mountain Ash RFC), Owen Clemett (Cardiff Univ), Luke Griffiths, Benji John, Tom Page, Anthony Pearce (all USW)

Oxford University Greyhounds (squad)
Lewis Anderson, Noah Miller, Ed Hart, Paul Childs, Hugo McPherson, Ollie Adams, Val Taylor, Dan Radigan, Aaron Henry, Tom Kershaw, Tom Dyer, Will Harris, Scot Fernquest, Josh Strickland, Robbie Fraser, Jack Holmes, Noah Miller, Christian Goldsmith, James Calderwood, George Warr, Saasha Agureev, Fraser Cheetham, Seb Haddock, Tom Humberstone.

Referee: Mr Kelvin Shorte (WRU)
Assistant Referees: John Darcey and David Swain (both WRU)










Click here for the Stephen George website
Click here for Couts website
Click here for Algebra website
Click here for Dolmans website
Click here for Dowds website
Click here for DTZ website
Click here for Elmatic website
Click here for Eurobond website
Click here for Euroclad website
Click here for Euro Commercials website
Click here for Eversheds website
Click here for Fletcher Morgan website
Click here for Graeme John website
Click here for Harding Evans website
Click here for Hugh James website
Click here for Porters website
Click here for Thomas Carroll website
Click here for Kukri website