• President
    • Gerald Davies CBE
  • Vice Presidents
    • Andrew Brace
    • DE Brierley
    • Jack Evans
    • Bob Garwood
    • Simon Gulliford
    • David Harries
    • Owain Harries
    • Dr Keith Hughes
    • Peter Jackson
    • W Hopkin Joseph
    • Gerry Latham
    • Ian Lewis
    • Byron Light
    • Greg Lock
    • Nigel Perris
    • Martyn Ryan
    • Anthony Tarr
    • Denys Thomas
    • Richard Whiting
    • John Williams
    • Nick Williams
    • Gary Witchell
  • Life Members
    • Malcolm Baker
    • Gerald Davies CBE
    • Jack Davies
    • Leighton Davies
    • Denis Evans
    • Dennis Gethin OBE
    • Wyn Oliver
  • Chairman
    • Jack Davies
  • Hon Secretary
    • Denys Thomas
  • Treasurer
    • Jon Davis
  • Vice Chairman
    • Tim Lowe
  • Match Secretary
    • Dr Keith Hughes
  • Head Coach
    • Adrian Evans
  • Executive Committee
    • Jack Davies
    • Denys Thomas
    • Jon Davis
    • Tim Lowe
    • Steve Williams
    • Adrian Evans
    • Dr Keith Hughes
    • Bob Dyer
    • Rhys Evans
    • Gethin Evans
    • Alun Wynne
    • Dr Brian Rees OBE
    • Wyn Hughes
    • David Williams
    • Gareth Nicholas
    • Richard Emms
    • Steve Whitehead
    • Paul Evans
    • Colin Workman
    • Paul Jones
    • Simon Thomas

Oxford University Whippets 27 Welsh Academicals 45

November 7th 2015

Welsh Academicals: Harri Lang (Whitchurch HS), Osian Davies (Birmingham University), James Gahan (University of Gloucestershire), Freddie Harries (Plymouth University), Ollie Joyce (Swansea University), Toby Fricker (Southampton University), Aled Price (Bristol University), Iolo Morgan (Reading University), Tom Baker (Loughborough University), Shaun Clarke (University of South Wales), Josh James (Hartpury College, Gavin Clement (University of South Wales), Benji John (University of South Wales), Aston Lester (Loughborough University), Gareth Pym (Loughborough University), Adam Nyhan (Loughborough Univeristy), Lewis Burley (Swansea University), Lewis Johnson (Swansea University), Alex Gray (Royal Agricultural College), Matthew Bennett (Hartpury College), Cameron Watson-Boycott (Cardiff Medicals) Bill Fisher (Birmingham University)

Adrian Evans, Dai Willaims, Dr Keith Hughes, Oran Davis, Paul Evans.

Despite torrental rain preceding this fixture, the impecable playing surface at the historic Iffley Road ground ensured that the match survived. Though the blue skies opened prior to kick off the blustery conditions made expansive rugby difficult for an Accies line up containing 10 debutants, Oxford took advantage of thier superior familiarity after only six minutes and crossed for a converted try after a scrum close to the Accies tryline. The visitors however were quick to respond with scrum half Shaun Clarke diving over from close range after a concerted effort on the dark blues line to make the score 7-5

Oxford continued the first half with the more fluent rugby and were rewarded with an unconverted try when swift passing followed a turnover in midfield. The Accies battled hard to stay in contention and shortly before the break a powerful run down the left by winger James Gahan saw them camped on the Oxford line until Shaun Clark saw a similar opportunity to his first try and crossed to keep the scorebard level going into the second half.

The start of the second half mirrored the first, Oxford out of the blocks with another close quarter try before the Accies responded through Josh James, who powered over after numerous forward drives on the home tryline. Until the final stages both sides stayed within a single score of each other, Aled Price and Olly Joyce having their tries matched by the opponents until the Accies took control in the crucial final minutes with captain Cameron Watson - Boycott and Gavin Clement completing the decisive tries for a final score of 27 - 45 in favour of the Welshmen.


Click here for the Stephen George website
Click here for Couts website
Click here for Algebra website
Click here for Dolmans website
Click here for Dowds website
Click here for DTZ website
Click here for Elmatic website
Click here for Eurobond website
Click here for Euroclad website
Click here for Euro Commercials website
Click here for Eversheds website
Click here for Fletcher Morgan website
Click here for Graeme John website
Click here for Harding Evans website
Click here for Hugh James website
Click here for Porters website
Click here for Thomas Carroll website
Click here for Kukri website