• President
    • Gerald Davies CBE
  • Vice Presidents
    • Andrew Brace
    • DE Brierley
    • Jack Evans
    • Bob Garwood
    • Simon Gulliford
    • David Harries
    • Owain Harries
    • Dr Keith Hughes
    • Peter Jackson
    • W Hopkin Joseph
    • Gerry Latham
    • Ian Lewis
    • Byron Light
    • Greg Lock
    • Nigel Perris
    • Martyn Ryan
    • Anthony Tarr
    • Denys Thomas
    • Richard Whiting
    • John Williams
    • Nick Williams
    • Gary Witchell
  • Life Members
    • Malcolm Baker
    • Gerald Davies CBE
    • Jack Davies
    • Leighton Davies
    • Denis Evans
    • Dennis Gethin
    • Wyn Oliver
  • Chairman
    • Jack Davies
  • Hon Secretary
    • Denys Thomas
  • Treasurer
    • Jon Davis
  • Vice Chairman
    • Tim Lowe
  • Match Secretary
    • Dr Keith Hughes
  • Head Coach
    • Adrian Evans
  • Executive Committee
    • Jack Davies
    • Denys Thomas
    • Jon Davis
    • Tim Lowe
    • Steve Williams
    • Adrian Evans
    • Dr Keith Hughes
    • Rhys Evans
    • Gethin Evans
    • Alun Wynne
    • Dr Brian Rees OBE
    • Wyn Hughes
    • David Williams
    • Gareth Nicholas
    • Richard Emms
    • Steve Whitehead
    • Paul Evans
    • Colin Workman
    • Bob Dyer
    • Paul Jones
    • Simon Thomas

Oxford University Greyhounds 14 Welsh Academicals 83

Saturday 3rd November 2012.

Match Report Accies V Oxford Greyhounds RFC on Saturday November 3rd 2012

Historical Note.
This fixture was arranged between Dr Keith Hughes, Team Secretary, and Mr Tim Stevens of Oxford Greyhounds, an integral part of the Oxford University set up. Unfortunately the match could not be played at Iffley Road, the historical home of Oxford University. It was instead transferred to Littlemore RFC, the home club of Mr Lyn Evans, formerly of St. Lukes’ and Coach of Oxford University, where the Accies party was given a warm welcome and friendly hospitality. Over thirty Accies have represented Oxford University including current Accies Life Member Denis Evans, former Secretary of the WRU.

The Match

Despite some late withdrawals a good balanced squad of 22 players met at Littlemore RFC 3miles south of Oxford. Accies made a brilliant start, announcing their intention to play running rugby for within three minutes they had scored a try, duly converted, following attacking play from the kick off. The Greyhounds adopted a similar approach managing to score an unconverted try in the corner following good approach play within the Accies twenty five in the twelfth minute of the game. Thereafter Accies grew more and more dominant and scoring at regular intervals. This was due largely because of to the excellent skilful forward and three quarters interplay and pace of their three quarters. Tries were scored by centres Matt Smith (2), Owen Thomas (2), No7 Stuart Worrall 91) and Diggy Bird (1) and 4 conversions.

Both teams made player changes for the start of the second half. The patter of play remained largely the same with the Accies winning regular good ball and attacking at every opportunity within the Greyhounds stoutly defending and making occasional forays into the Accies half from which they scored a well worked try near the posts which was converted. However, Accies growing superiority, despite a Yellow carding for a ruck infringement, allowed them to accumulate a succession of tries. Try scorers include three quarters Tom James (1), Capt and No 8 Jarad Williams (1), centre Matt Smith (1), Wing Ollie Turton (1) and fullback Ben Cullen (2) and Diggy Bird (1) who kicked5 conversions. The match ended with a triumphant win for the Accies by 83points to Greyhounds 14points.
Testimony to running style of the Accies on the day was the fact that 11 of the 13 tries came from the Accies three quarters (of course! with the help of the pack) with outside half Diggy Bird recording 2 tries and 9 conversions (28 points) statistics which will cause the Committee to check its record books.!

Accies Squad and scorers                                        
15 Denn Cullen ( Glam Univ) 2 tries                         
14 Ollie Turton  ( Glam Univ) 1 tries                         
13. Matt Smith   ( Glam Univ/Cardiff) 3 tries           
12. Owen Thomas ( Glam Univ) 2 tries                     
11. Ollie Williams ( Wellington College)                   
10.Biggy Bird (UMIC/Llanelli) 2 Tries and 9 con    
9. Fred Gulliford ( Univ of Birm)                              
3. Lewis Davies (Trinity College)
2. Greg George ( Swansea/Llanelli)
1. Geraint James (Glam Univ)
4. Ryan Oakes (Glam Univ)
5. Alex  Ruck (Bedford)
6. Jake Smith (Cardiff Met)
7. Stuart Worrall (Glam Univ)   1 Try
8. Capt Jarad Willimas (Bishop Burton Coll )  1 Try


Replacements Tom James (Cardiff Mets/ Glam Wand) Josh Bartlett (Swansea Univ) Sam Pincott (Glam Univ) Jack Williams (Cardiff Met) Sam Dowell (Univ Birm) Morgan Robinson (Bishop Burton Coll) Richrd Emms















Click here for the Stephen George website
Click here for Couts website
Click here for Algebra website
Click here for Dolmans website
Click here for Dowds website
Click here for DTZ website
Click here for Elmatic website
Click here for Eurobond website
Click here for Euroclad website
Click here for Euro Commercials website
Click here for Eversheds website
Click here for Fletcher Morgan website
Click here for Graeme John website
Click here for Harding Evans website
Click here for Hugh James website
Click here for Porters website
Click here for Thomas Carroll website
Click here for Kukri website